Another Chapter

amazing-happy-new-year-quotes-in-english-3

Although I may be inconsistent in posting on my blog at times, I traditionally post on New Years, March 7th, my birthday (both belly button and recovery), Thanksgiving and Christmas.  Remembering the past year, I am reminded to “be careful what I ask for”, because 2013 brought many lessons about trust.  As I began this post, I read the post for New Year’s 2013. This is what I wrote:

A blog challenge for 2013 is to find one word to focus on through the coming year and incorporate that into your writing.  I have several words that seem appropriate, but the one word that keeps coming through is trust. It isn’t something that comes naturally for me.  I learned a tremendous amount about trust in 2012; some of it bad, yet much of it good.  I am going to embrace the challenge and put trust into my daily life- trust in God, my friends, my family and in myself.   I survived the end of the world in 2012, so welcome 2013. Let’s see what you have in store!

I began the year trying to recover from the flu, and in spite of getting the flu shot, it was my Christmas day gift.  For the next few months, I would battle one round of bronchitis after the other.  Breathing treatments, antibiotics, injected and oral steroids became constant companions.  I would battle each round coming ever so close to victory, only to find myself pushed back into a corner once again.  In May, only two days before I was to take my grandson to the live auditions for X-Factor  complete with  Simon Cowell and Demi Lovato, I was admitted to the hospital with pneumonia.

All of these battles with bronchitis occurred as I prepared to begin my lifelong dream of going to college.  I stepped onto the College of Charleston campus in early January not sure if I would be able to survive as a college student.  I can now tell you that I not only have survived, but I have done well.  I have enough credits to apply as a degree student instead of a “non-traditional” student and I am only a few credits away from being a sophomore.  Did I mention that I have a 3.82 GPA?

Being sick for so long took a financial toll since I wasn’t able to work during that time.  The cost of COBRA for me to keep my insurance was over $500 a month, and I still had deductibles and copays. In October, the biggest financial hit came when my car blew the transmission.   Being without a car for close to two months was devastating, but I managed to finish school for the semester and keep my part time job.

As summer approached,  I was healthy again and was able to start a new fitness program.  It was another step in learning some great ways to exercise without a gym, and it was a thought-provoking experience in learning balance.  I was reminded that fitness goals and healthy living are a work in progress, not something to achieve overnight.

I managed a couple of very short trips this year.  Jan, Anna, and I took a day trip to Savannah.  We laughed, talked, shopped, discovered “Your Pie Pizza”, and walked all around Savannah even though it was still a bit cool that day, and had a great day.   I had to take a trip, have an adventure, and see a play for my three of my classes, so a short weekend trip with Ginger, Sassy, and Jerome made getting an A on all three papers easy.  Jan and I continued to have Friday adventures including doing some genealogical research, climbing an old haunted staircase in a house that was built in early 1800, and visiting a couple of library archives.  We did manage to find some great food along the way, as well.

So, what does all this have to do with trust? If you look at most of last year, you may begin to see that I wasn’t able to do things for other people the way I usually do.  Money, health, and time took away my ability to take care of others and do things for the people in my life.  All that was left for me to give was myself.  I have always been sure that “I” was not enough.  Last year, I had to trust my friends and my family with my vulnerability.  Every time they stayed by my side, supported me, bought me lunch, visited me, called me to  make sure I was OK, took me where I needed to go, went beyond everything I expected, I thanked God for showing me what trust and love are really about.

I didn’t learn to trust anyone as a child.  I didn’t understand love until I had children of my own.  I did not trust God, and I was not convinced that God would or could love me.  I do not believe God sends catastrophes, broken cars, financial problems, etc. into my life, but  I do believe God has used all of these things to help me learn about love and trust.  God continues to be  patient and understanding with me.

I do not think I am going to choose a theme for 2014, but I will be writing to tell you about my year. I will give you one sneak peak at the upcoming year.  The “three stooges” (we must think of a better name) are going to see JILLIAN!

I hope you all have a blessed and wonderful New Year!

5 responses

  1. Cathy:

    Thanks for your posts.

    I wish you all the best in 2014.

    May gentleness, prosperity, healing and peace overflow to you ❤

    Xo Tanya On Dec 31, 2013 10:46 PM, "Cathy's Voice Now" wrote:

    > Cathy posted: ” Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE ” Respond > to this post by replying above this line > New post on *Cathy’s Voice Now* > > Another Chapter by > Cathy > > Normal > 0 > > false > false > false > > EN-US > X-NONE > X-NONE > > /* Style Definitions */ > table.MsoNormalTable > {mso-style-name:”Table Normal”; > mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; > mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; > mso-style-noshow:yes; > mso-style-priority:99; > mso-style-parent:””; > mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; > mso-para-margin-top:0in; > mso-para-margin-right:0in; > mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt; > mso-para-margin-left:0in; > line-height:115%; > mso-pagination:widow-orphan; > font-size:11.0pt; > font-family:”Times New Roman”,”serif”;} > > [image: amazing-happy-new-year-quotes-in-english-3] > > Although I may be inconsistent in posting on my blog at times, I > traditionally post on New Years, March 7th, my birthday (both belly button > and recovery), Thanksgiving and Christmas. Remembering the past year, I > am reminded to be careful what I ask for, because 2013 brought many > lessons about trust. As I began this post, I read the post for New > Years 2013. > This is wh

    Like

  2. Jillian? Holy Moly … be prepared to be wowed! Best of everything to you in 2014! 🙂

    Like

    1. “When God is going to do something wonderful, He or She always starts with a hardship; when God is going to do something amazing, He or She starts with an impossibility. ”
      ― Anne Lamott, Plan B: Further Thoughts on Faith

      Like

  3. I love the quote! Feeling the same over here …

    It sounds like you had a challenging year but these challenges brought great experiences! For me it was the same. 2013 was very straining health-wise and mentally, and hubby and I also had a lot of sorrows financially. But at the same time, I learned to really trust the people in my life I’m really close to, without feeling completely bad about myself, and that’s a point where I haven’t been before.

    Congratulations on all you have achieved last year, and blessings for 2014! 🙂

    Like

    1. Hope the new year brings you health in all aspects of your life. My used to always ask, “what are you supposed to learn from this?” It is a question I still ask today. Thanks for your comment.

      Like

What did you think?

