Barefootin’

8709barefoot

I hate shoes. If shoes must be worn I prefer flip flops or sandals. That is why I love summer so much. I typically don’t wear “real” shoes of any kind from May until October.  I wear sandals all year-long when the weather isn’t too terribly cold.  Living in the South makes that possible.  The only exception to that rule is athletic shoes.  They are necessary when you go to gym or to an exercise class of some sort or if you are a runner, of course.

I grew up in a small neighborhood on the water.  I have written about it before here.  When we first moved into the neighborhood there was just one circular dirt road and a lot of trees and wooded areas.  We only wore shoes to school, church, and when we had to go into public.   It didn’t hurt to walk on all the things nature outdoors for us.  Of course, we would get splinters or scrapes from time to time.  The biggest danger we faced was oyster shells.  We learned quickly to watch out step and test the mud on the river bank.  I still have scars on my toes from those treacherous shells.  We also spent time at the lake or beach and shoes were left in the car just in case we had to stop somewhere along the way.

Back to the athletic shoes… I have always had a problem finding shoes that don’t hurt my feet or my toes.  I have a medium arch on one foot and a flat foot on the other.  I have an issue with my little toes that cause them to roll to the outside.  I have had several bone spurs that had to be shaved.  Eventually, I had surgery to take out the small bone but I still have problems with shoes.   I have tried insoles and arch supports, etc. but, I have simply learned to find the shoes that cause the least discomfort.

Last year I discovered an exercise program that does not allow shoes-Karate. Everything is done barefoot.  I practiced for a year and after a few weeks had no pain or discomfort with my feet.  I haven’t been able to do Karate or any other fitness program for several months because of illness.  I started back at a gym with a fitness program in order to rebuild my stamina and strength.  I have had pain and cramps in my feet every workout session.  Today, I decided to take off my shoes half way through my class.  I was amazed.  I had no cramping and no pain.  I am going to talk to my trainers about doing as much of each class as possible without shoes.

I have been thinking a lot about getting older and what my later years might look like.  Mind you when I say later years, I mean somewhere in my 90’s when I finally slow down a bit.  I have decided that whether I live in my own home, with my children/grandchildren, or in a residential retirement home, I am going to be comfortable.  I will go barefoot as much as possible. Oh, and I will go bra-less as well.  I am sure by that time I will be ready to let go of the “what are people going to think” issues.   Those “Red Hat” ladies better watch out, because I believe others may follow my barefoot and bra-less idea!

 

UBC-banner2

20 responses

  1. This is a great post. I have been and currently kinda still am in this space. I guess I would say I am moving through it. My faith has been challenged, but I’m ever more sure that this too shall pass. The plans I had are all distant and remote now, an the plans I have are shaped completely anew.

    Elizabeth T, Early Rise

    Like

    1. Best of luck to you. Moving through it is the way only way to get there.

      Like

  2. I came by from the UBC and am now following you. I feel you on the shoes, I had 2 surgeries on my foot and have to wear special shoes I try to go barefoot as much as I can.

    Like

    1. Thanks for following. Barefoot is certainly much cheaper. Even insoles are expensive.

      Like

  3. I hate shoes, too! I currently have two pairs, a pair of black flats for work and a pair of sneakers. That’s it. I do want to get a pair of 6-inch platform heels just to say I walked in them, but other than that, I prefer barefoot. And it doesn’t even matter to me what season it is. I live in Michigan, and I’ll walk barefoot through the snow just as much as I’ll walk barefoot through the sand.

    And I’m with you on the bra-less thing, too!

    Like

    1. LOL I have walked barefoot in the snow as well. It’s just not as much fun as the sand although in the heat of summer it can burn your feet quickly. I tried on 6 inch heels just playing around in the store. I could hardly balance on them.

      Like

  4. I have to admit I love shoes…but comfortable shoes and am addicted to Pumas (have 3 pairs). Ask my hubby if I love shoes, me 20 pairs vs. his 2 pairs. Loved your article. Deb

    Like

    1. I will tell you that I can be addicted to buying flipflops and sandals. If I have to wear shoes I want fun and cute ones.

      Like

  5. Can I join your club??? 🙂

    Like

    1. You are already in!! 😛

      Like

  6. Right there with you on the barefootin’! I prefer bare feet over any type of footwear – it’s not only easier, but I think it’s so much more comfortable! Love the blog!

    Like

  7. I try to wear thong sandals (with backs – I have to have backs) as much as possible, but the upstate New York climate wouldn’t allow it year round (outdoors, anyway). In my office building, there is a piloxing class twice a week and I understand they work out barefoot. I have always done water aerobics (including water zumba) barefoot – our instructor keeps talking to us about shoes but – I want to be barefoot!

    Like

    1. Piloxing? I had to look it up. I haven’t seen any of those classes around here. Sounds like fun. I love any water classes..never tried Zumba in the water.

      Like

  8. I have a sneaky feeling that quite a few of us ladies will be in your shoeless and bra-less brigade – and proud to be!

    Like

    1. We will need a cool name for the club. I will work on that!

      Like

  9. I live now in the South also and definitely May thru October is sandals although I have in-soles in them but definitely sandals plus a pair of black and a pair of brown shoes when it gets cold. And about the bra-less thing, the first thing I do now when I come home from work is take that thing off ! Why wait till 90? :o)

    Like

    1. Oh, it is the first thing I do when I get home but by 90 I don’t intend to even own one. I have a friend who tossed all of hers out and now only wears those cami’s with a little extra protection.

      Like

  10. No shoes here too. Fitflops or Toms all summer if I have to wear something on my feet. But living in the north of England my barefoot season is somewhat shorter than yours!

    Like

    1. In winter I still don’t want shoes..I wear boots. Much more comfortable and fun.

      Like

What did you think?

