Apples-The Kind You Eat

An-Apple-A-Day-Really-Keeps-The-Doctor-Away

If an apple a day really did keep the doctor away I would surely invest in home delivery of apples. There are over 600 varieties of apples and I would order as many as possible to make sure I can keep all types of doctors away.  Perhaps red apples cover blood born illnesses or green apples cover digestive disease.  I have Googled varieties of apples but haven’t found any conclusive proof this will work.

Health insurance has become a hot political topic.  Over 48 million American’s are uninsured and many are under insured.  I am not interested in debating Obamacare.  This isn’t a political post, but health care in America is a real issue for many.

I have had  decent health insurance coverage for the past 12 years.  My employer did cover part of the premiums.  I had copays and deductibles for most services.  Mental health coverage was extremely limited and almost nonexistent.  However, I did have coverage.

I  no longer work full time.  I am able to keep my insurance by using a federal program called COBRA.  This means I can keep my insurance for 18 months by paying the full amount of premiums.  Over $500.00 a month is a very difficult payment with no income.  I am looking for part time work,  however most part time jobs do not offer health insurance coverage.

I won’t qualify for Medicare until I am 65.  That means I have 3 and 1/2 years of finding my own coverage. If I make the choice to do without insurance, I am putting my health at risk.   With the current pre existing condition limits on policies, I may not be able to get coverage for any existing conditions if I let my insurance lapse.

I am sure someone is scratching their head and wondering why I put myself in this situation.  Why am I not pushing my way into prospective employers’ offices and diligently seeking a job?  Surely this opportunity to go to college isn’t worth losing health insurance. That is a long, complicated, and difficult question to answer.

My question is why I (along with millions of others) should have to answer this question at all.   Affordable health care should be accessible to everyone, not just those who are fortunate enough to find a job with a company that offers this benefit and helps cover the cost.

This is an issue much too complicated and difficult to discuss in a blog post.  I don’t have answers.  I have some ideas but those too are complicated.   I don’t know how I am going to find a solution to my current dilemma.   I might  go ahead and buy some apples, just  in case.

What has your experience been with this topic?  Do any of you go without insurance?

/

4 responses

  1. Hi Cathy – I think that the lack of affordable health care coverage is a huge factor that keeps people stuck in jobs they don’t like. Congratulations on having the courage to pursue your dreams and not letting that stop you!

    Like

  2. OMG, don’t get me started on this! I am soooo opinionated about this topic! Did you see “Sicko” by Michael Moore?–a must and highly entertaining–I actually watched it 2x. Anyway, my only regret is not ditching my health insurance sooner than I did 3 or 4 years ago. And believe it or not, I decided to do so right when I thought I might have cancer. Why? Because it was then I realized I wanted nothing to do with so-called health care that any insurance would ever cover. I think this whole thing is a total scam and shame. Yes, if I break my leg and/or have a heart attack, I’d like to think this society will take care of me whether or not I am poor. But most other health issues are better treated through alternative care. The apple idea may seem like a joke, but I assure you what you put in your mouth is 10 x more important than whether you have “insurance.”

    Like

  3. I’m an Australian and though we complain frequently about the state of our public health system, we are so lucky to not have the issues accessing care that our American cousins seem to have – I don’t get why health insurance is such a huge problem for the US though. BUT yes, I think it’s worth the risk of not having health insurance to go to college. Though again, our Universities have free (medicare funded) health services on campus for students, including mental health.

    Like

  4. Try this website, Cathy. We found one of these in NC.
    https://www.pcip.gov/

    Like

What did you think?

