Somethin’ Bout A Truck

il_fullxfull.341511964

It started as a simple lunch conversation with friends.

“He has the sexiest truck.  He really does.”  She was talking about a young man she knows. It was a simple enough statement.

“I have never really thought about sexy and truck going together.”  I thought my friends would agree without hesitation.

“What?  Are you kidding?  A man with truck is about the sexiest thing around?  Don’t you know that song Somethin Bout a Truck?  You aren’t a country girl are you?”

I was surprised at the reaction.  I was raised in the country.   I am told that being raised on the river here in the low-country may not translate to the same country as the upstate folks talk about.  Yes, my friends are from the upstate. ( For my readers not from this area, the upstate refers to the northern most part of South Carolina and the low-country is the coastal area.)

I later searched the internet for proof that “truck” was sexy.  I found several songs by country singers about trucks and those men are indeed sexy.  I suppose seeing them in their natural environment and driving a truck might qualify as sexy.  I am still not sure I totally get it.

Later that evening at dinner we scrutinized the parking lot.  We looked at several trucks and my friends explained which ones were indeed deemed as sexy.  One smaller beat up truck did not make the cut.  I pointed to one of the more modern “lifted” trucks.  It had a big lift kit and was raised several feet in the air with huge tires.  My friends laughed.   I then learned that trucks with too much lift and flashy tires indicated that the owner may be trying to make up for something, let’s say, lacking in his life.   An F 350 with crew cab and a couple of nice decals seem to be the sexiest in the parking lot.

So I decided to check this out for myself and did a Google search for “sexy trucks.”  Much to my surprise I found an article listing the “Top 10  Sexy Trucks of 2012.”  Who would have guessed.  Here is the description of the number one sexy truck.

There is just something about the 2012 Ram 1500 R/T that gets my blood going. This pickup is the sexiest truck for 2012 because it looks good from any angle and there is not one problem I can see with the look of this vehicle. Every part of the body is color matched providing a clean and sleek look. The hood has a mean bulge with air inlets that let you know this truck is all business. The rims are huge 22-inch forged and polished wheels which just add to the overall sexiness of the Ram 1500 R/T. The base price on the 2012 Ram 1500 R/T is $31,685. The truck comes with a 5.7 liter V-8 HEMI engine that cranks out 390 horsepower and 407 lb-ft. of torque through a 6-speed automatic transmission. The Ram 1500 R/T also rocks 4.10 gears which help it to accelerate from 0-60 MPG in 6.1 seconds making it one of the fastest stock production trucks. That is sexy!

Don’t believe that will compete with the 50 Shades of Grey phenomenon, but you know,   I am beginning to think my friends just might be right.  I might just have to check out those big trucks rolling down the road and their drivers.  Remember, women drive trucks, too.  I wonder if guys consider a woman driving a F350  sexy?   Maybe, just maybe, my next car should be a truck.

/

10 responses

  1. Love it! Trucks are sexy here too. Not to mention a necessity of life! Great post!:)

    Like

  2. You are catching on! Proud of ya! 🙂

    Like

    1. I am learning so much!! LOL

      Like

  3. Yes Sis a chick drivin a truck Excellent

    Like

  4. Hilarious! It’s a whole different world.

    This reminds me of something I learned from my daughter when she was about 7 or 8 years old, she told me that motorbikes have faces and are either happy or angry, well this was news to me, so the next time we were in town and walked past a line of them she showed me what she meant, she walked past each one looking at it’s face (the lights area) and diagnosed them each as happy or angry – and you know what, she was right!

    Funny the things that are right in front of us that just a little bit of imagination can divulge 🙂

    Like

  5. As a country girl with horses, I really enjoyed this. I’d love to have a 2013 F250 diesel. My son has an older Ford that he works on and is proud of. This article was well written and I found no nits. Nice work. 🙂 Susan

    Like

    1. Thanks so much. In my early 20’s I rode horses and had a very sweet horse. It has been a long time!!

      Like

  6. Keep looking, Cathy. The guy has to look good, too.
    When my blond daughter was in her 20’s she drove a big red pickup truck. She loved it. Unfortunately, I think it was sexy. Now she has a Forrester with 2 car seats. Much better.

    Like

  7. […] I made the appropriate calls for emergency roadside assistance.  The first rescuer came with jumper cables and attempted to start the car to no avail.  He determined that I needed a tow truck.  That was a determination I made long before he showed up.   I made another call for a tow truck.  They told me it would be close to an hour so we decided to walk across the street for some food.   The tow truck showed up much sooner than we expected. We asked for our food in to go boxes.  We found it very difficult to eat while riding in the cab in of the big tow truck.   I imagine it was much like the early settlers riding in covered wagons with the rough ride, bumps, and wind blowing everything around.  The truck would not be one of the ones my friends would have on the “sexy” list.  You can read more about that idea here. […]

    Like

  8. I was web searching ‘Sexy Pickup Truck’ and I ran across your post. I totally get it. I am totally crushing on a man who drives a pickup. I’m partial to Anything Dodge, esp. the mid-sized Dakota..what is up with Dodge, not making that one anymore…very sexy truck. I’m a northern city girl but that doesn’t matter, trucks are sexy up here too.

    Like

What did you think?

