Delayed Gratification

Delayed gratification is the ability to resist an immediate reward and wait for a later reward.  I read an article that stated people with the ability to delay or defer gratification are less likely to have impulse issues or addictions, etc.  I obviously am not good at the delaying thing. That is of course unless I can use it is as an excuse to put off something.

This blog post is a great example.  I promised to do the 30 Days of Gratitude Challenge on Sunday instead of daily.  It is now Wednesday and I have not posted.  I could say it was because I was savoring the moment and delaying the gratification of posting.  That would be a rationalization.  Actually it would just be lie.  Sunday was just a busy day and I didn’t get to it.

Today I am going to catch up and promise to try to do better.

Nov 12  I am grateful for laughter. I love that I have people in my life who enjoy having fun and laughing.

Nov. 13 I am grateful  that I am able to have faith in a God love even thought I was taught to believe in a God of fear and punishment.

Nov. 14  I am grateful for the kids in my life.  I have three amazing grand kids.  They are growing up way too fast.  One is driving and one will be a teenager in a few weeks.  The little one is a toddler and has a smile that doesn’t stop.  I have the privilege of spending of time with the two kids of my best friend.  They are very sweet and loving kids.

Nov. 15  I am grateful for the opportunity to go back to college.  I am trying it out with a couple of classes in the spring to see how it goes.

Nov. 16 I am grateful for chocolate.  Yes, I know that isn’t very deep but I do love chocolate.

Nov. 17  I am grateful for the lessons learned in my life, even if they came at a price.

Nov. 18  I am grateful for music.  Music takes me to places nothing else can.  I am very sure there is music in heaven.  I am sure there is chocolate, too.

Nov. 19  I am grateful for the opportunity to meet Anne Lamott and hear her thoughts on prayer and life. I am also grateful for a wonderful couple of days on the road with Jan.

Nov. 20  I am grateful for GPS.  Yes, I really am.  It kept Jan and I from getting lost in Atlanta.  🙂

Nov. 21 I am grateful for my brothers and sisters.  I have one brother and bunch of half brothers and sisters.  I haven’t seen or spoken to a couple of them in a very long time.  I pray that they will someday want to put aside old issues and be a part of my life.

I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This blog post is part of NaBloPoMo.  The theme for November’s NaBloPoMo is blogging for blogging’s sake.

One response

  1. You’ve said it all! Wise words from a full life. Thanks, Cathy.

    Like

What did you think?

