Friday Night Football

I am a bit late posting today.  I just got home from my grandson’s JV football game.  It is the last game of this season.  I hate to say it but I am rather happy about that.  My son never played football and my daughter was on the Flag Team.  Being the Grandmother of a football player is hard.

During tonight’s game, the backup quarterback/and first string running back was carried off the field and spent the rest of the game on the sidelines with crutches.  Not long after that the Quarterback was taken off the field on a cart after being temporarily knocked out.  But that isn’t why it is hard to watch these games.   My grandson is a kicker and not quite as often in the mix of tangled legs, arms, and heads.

It is a challenge because there seems to be so much emphasis on the game and not the young men on the field.  There are politics and parents who give more to the booster club so their kids get special treatments.  There are egos that are feed instead of being taught how to handle losing or winning.

Surprisingly,  it is the adults that are the problem.  I have seem more juvenile behavior from the adults than the kids.  The team members have rallied around someone who has fumbled the ball or missed the kick.    Everyone wants to win.  That is why we play sports.  I play fantasy football and I love college and pro ball.   It just seems that these high school years are meant to prepare students for real life.  Real life for 99% of these kids does not include playing sports professionally.

I know I can’t change the world of team sports for kids by writing a blog post.  I just really needed to share my thoughts with someone tonight.  Thanks for reading.   I would love to  hear your thoughts on the subject.

This blog post is part of NaBloPoMo.  The theme for November’s NaBloPoMo is blogging for blogging’s sake.

3 responses

  1. I agree with you about how so many adults forget what it’s about. Some of the coaches do too. Thankfully not all though!

    Like

  2. Not surprising it’s the adults. My kids were year-round competitive swimmers growing up. One of us went to almost every meet, but my question was “Did you have fun?” Some of the parents were just awful.

    Like

  3. We have spent years following soccer teams all the way up and down the east coast and have enjoyed EVERY minute of it. Our son is good enough to play in college, and he will, but he chose the college he is going to for the education he will receive, not for playing the sport! I’m really proud of him for making that decision…we must have done something right!!!

    Like

What did you think?

