The Next Big Thing-A Tag

 

My amazing and talented writer son Ted at Ted the Third tagged me for this meme.  The rules are listed below.

What is your working title of your book?  

The working title has changed many times.  My latest title is It’s All In My Head.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

The idea came from my own life experiences.  I believe that sharing helps me heal and let’s others know they are not alone.  I spent the first 35 years of my life believing I was alone.  I never knew there were other people with the same fears, pain, shame and yes, even hope.

What genre does your book fall under?

Memoirs is the genre I believe this fall under.  But this is more than a memoir.  It is a book about healing and living life.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

That is easy.  Johnny Depp will play someone.  I don’t care who he plays as long as he is in it.  Meryl Strep or Susan Sarandon should play me.  Kathy Bates would be great as my first therapist and friend.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

This book shares a  journey of healing from childhood sexual abuse, physical abuse, mental/emotional abuse, and spiritual abuse.  The journey follows life from conservative, fundamentalist mother of two and wife of a seminary student to a full blown alcoholic/addict who loses everything only to find herself.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I would love to be represented by an agency and published but I am will self publish is that doesn’t happen.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? May we see an intro?

I have written many pieces and parts to the book. I do not have it in a complete first draft yet.  I have been letting fear and lack of belief in my writing keep me from moving forward.  I have recommitted to finishing it.   Here is part of my original intro (which will change many times more I am sure):

I just finished a couple of years of therapy with a wonderful therapist.   After we parted, she wrote a very sweet note and ended it with “By the way, I think there is a very important book inside of you. . . just think about it, Ok?”.  If I had a dollar for every time someone said that to me, I would have enough to take all my friends out for a very expensive dinnerI was going to exaggerate and say something like enough to fulfill my wildest dreams, but that would have been overkill.   I have been thinking about this for a very long time.  This book has been in my head for so long, but I just haven’t managed to get in on paper. 

Why is that you ask?    I could tell you it is because I couldn’t decide on where to start or how to organize it, but I think the truth is that I have been afraid.  Afraid-that is a word that has haunted me most of my life.  I learned fear as a very little girl and I have held on to it like a worn out security blanket. 

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

 Call Me Anna by Patty Duke or Keeping Secrets by Suzanne Summers

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I have always loved to write but never thought about sharing it with anyone.  At 35 years old I went into therapy. My therapist was the first person to say, “You should really write a book.”  As I shared more of my life with other people that comment was repeated by many people.   I went back into therapy recently and my therapist has encouraged me to write.  My friend Jan from Simply Jan has encouraged me to keep working and writing.  One of the concerns was how my children and grandchildren would respond to my writing.   It is no longer a concern and I am excited to share my life story with them.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I describe my life as a cross between a “made for TV Lifetime Mini Series”, the Jerry Springer Show, and Dr. Phil.  I used to laugh and say that I could fill in the blanks for almost all of the requests at the end of Springer or Dr. Phil.  When those shows end they usually put up a request that goes something like, “Have you ever found out you had  sibling you didn’t know about?” or “Did you ever_____?”

 

TAG YOU ARE IT!   I only have three.  My son Ted is the one who tagged me so I can’t use him or any of his five.

Adriana Ryan http://www.adrianaryan.com

Author of spunky supernatural fiction and a good friend.

Donna Wall donnagladys.wall@facebook.com

Donna is a writer and spends much of her time helping people in her community.

Donna Lynch donna.j.lynch@facebook.com

I can’t wait to hear more about Donna’s project. She is fun, spirited, and a bit of a wild child..like me.

 

Rules of The Next Big Thing:

*Use this format for your post *Answer the ten questions about your current WIP (work in progress) *Tag five other writers/bloggers and add their links so we can hop over and meet them.

Ten Interview Questions for the Next Big Thing:

  • What is your working title of your book?
  • Where did the idea come from for the book?
  • What genre does your book fall under?
  • Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
  • What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
  • Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
  • How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? May we see an intro?
  • What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
  • Who or what inspired you to write this book?
  • What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Include the link of who tagged you and this explanation for the people you have tagged. Be sure to line up your five people in advance.

One response

  1. […] The Next Big Thing-A Tag (cathysvoicenow.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

What did you think?

