Uncloaking The Blog

I am still here.  Really.  I haven’t posted to my blog in a week.  I haven’t missed that much time since the beginning of this year.   I am not going to offer excuses for my lacksidasical performance.   My grandson once explained his behavior to a teacher this way.

“AJ, please stop tapping your pencil on the desk.”  After several minutes of hearing the drumming pencil, she had reached her limit.

“But I have ADHD.  It is hard to be still.”

“AJ, that is not a good excuse.”

“Well, it might not be a good excuse, but it is a really good reason.”  How can you argue with logic like that?

I don’t have a good excuse for not posting, but I do have some good reasons.   One of the reasons is that I can’t tell you the reason.  Is that confusing enough?  I have a couple of things going on in my life that I can’t talk about publicly at this time. I will be able to share some of it with you in another week.  It is life changing and so frustrating not to able to write about it.

The other reason is that I have actually had no time.  My work demands have temporarily shifted, I have started a new month long women’s life coaching group, and I am more involved in my Karate classes.  The last three days have been very long days.  I have been in the office before 7:30am Thursday and Friday.  I have gone straight from work to church for our annual Hands of Christ program.  Both nights and today (Saturday), we have helped over 800 children with school supplies and uniforms.   Last night, I went with my friends Jan and Anna for a late night walk on the beach.  It was so nice to talk, laugh, and watch the waves under distance heat lightening and moonlight.

This was my first year helping with the program and I loved meeting and talking with the parents and kids.  Being able to spend time with my church family in different circumstances was fun.  Seeing people in shorts and tee shirts instead of dress up Sunday clothes allows you to see a different piece of their personality.  I know I will be helping again next year.

I am going on vacation in ten days.  I am very excited about visiting and taking the train.  I know I will be posting along the way.  I need the time away from the chaos that is going on in my life right now.  I am absolutely going to miss my friends and my family, but I am so grateful for unlimited talk/text and Skype.

Summer is ending soon and life is changing for me in several ways.  Writing helps me process and deal with challenges.  Sharing my writing allows me to connect with people with a wide variety of life experiences.  I love writing this blog and I get so much from the comments and feedback.  I will be back on schedule soon and I can’t wait to see what is going on with all you.

 

5 responses

  1. First of all, I love the word lacksidasical. Second, I think it’s wonderful the volunteer work you’re doing with your church. Lastly, I look forward to reading more in the weeks to come. A vacation – lucky you!

    Ps I love trains too. Not the crowded kind though…

    Like

    1. Thanks. I hate flying but I do love the train. I hope that by traveling mid week the train won’t be so crowded!!

      Like

  2. singlemominasinglewide | Reply

    Extremely intelligent grandson you have. I always believe there is a huge difference between an excuse and a reason.

    Like

  3. I LOVE taking the train! Enjoy your vacation! And I can’t wait to hear your news…

    Also, it’s okay not to post “regularly”…when I started blogging I decided that it would be something I would never beat myself up over, no matter what, because it’s MINE! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks. I love the train as well. I am very excited.

      Like

What did you think?

