Onederland

I love Tinker Bell.  That is obvious to anyone who has read my blog or seen Tinkerbell tattooed on my chest.  Tinker Bell lives with Peter Pan in NeverLand.   I have often wondered what it might be like to live there.  Today I arrived in a new place that I often thought of as Never Land because I never thought I could get here.  I am officially a new resident of “Onederland. “   I weighted in this morning at 199.2   I am so excited and now begin to move towards the next goal.  Even though I have arrived in Onederland, my journey is not complete.

In February of 2008, I started a blog series called “Losing It.”  I wanted to share a small piece that I wrote from the blog.

 I have done OK this past week.  I started entering food and exercise in my journal.  I didn’t do it perfectly but I started back on it, so that is progress.  I will keep you informed on this blog about my weight loss or lack of it.  I will try to be as honest as possible.

I shared with the group last night that today is the 2 year anniversary of the death of my friend Jan.  That day changed my life.  I had never experience grief on that level.  I had a very difficult time.  I have come to realize that I had been very angry with Jan.  She decided after years of struggling with weight to have the stomach bypass surgery. A year later, she died from a massive heart attack. 

In March 2008, when Jan died, I had been on an eating and exercise plan and had lost a little over 22 pounds  I quit my program, my exercise, etc.  I started eating for comfort again.  I finally went back to therapy.  I decided in January ear that it was time to get back on track.  I haven’t been able to really get a handle on it. I have lost about 8 pounds so far,  but it has been a battle.

Today is a new day and a new beginning.  I want to honor Jan for all of her efforts to change her life.  I want to honor her for everything that she was to me in my life. I want to be everything that God intended me to be in this life.  My therapist recently said, “You’re amazing even if you don’t see it yourself yet!”  

So today, I am going to start realizing that I am an amazing person.  I have overcome so much in my life and I have accomplished so much.  I can do this.

This has been a lifelong struggle.  I will always have to be aware of my eating habits and continue to exercise.  But I now live in Onederland and I don’t plan to leave.     Thank you all for your support and encouragement along the way!

 

read to be read at yeahwrite.me

40 responses

  1. Congrats! I can remember crossing the 200 mark myself a little over 2 years ago….I’m struggling again with that last 40-50 pounds, going back and worth, gaining some of what I’d worked so hard to lose back and feeling horrible about it….funny I just wrote about it myself this morning. It’s not just about the diet and exercise…that’s what we all seem to forget. 80% of it’s in your head, you have to want it, believe it, embrace it….then anything is possible. I’ve to get myself back to that place again. so with that….keep going….you can do it!

    Like

  2. That is one-derful! Congratulations to you! And thank you for sharing your story.

    Like

  3. Well done! I can’t think of a good pun to follow up one-derland and one-derful, but YAY!

    Like

  4. So awesome! I am super happy for you that you made one of your goal weights! Onederland indeed! I’m so sorry to hear about your friend and the grief you suffered.

    Like

  5. Congratulations! That’s a great accomplishment! As always, I love the honesty of your work.

    Like

  6. Congratulations! That’s some hard work you’ve done — I’m proud of you!!

    Like

  7. What a heartfelt post…I am smiling and crying at the same time. I know how significant this is. Congratulations!

    Like

    1. Thank you Karen. I know you understand. It seemed like this would never happen but it did.

      Like

  8. That is something to be proud of! Congrats!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much

      Like

  9. AWESOME! Super duper congrats to you. I’ve recently lost nearly 25 pounds and nobody can notice (that’s how much more i need to lose) so i totally understand about eating for comfort, about entering Never Land (something i hope to enter soon, too). So, so awesome for you! Amazing is right.

    Like

    1. Hang in there. It will happen and you will be surprised when people do start to notice. 🙂

      Like

  10. Congratulations on hitting Onederland, Cathy! That is an awesome accomplishment. So many of us out here know how difficult losing any weight is, and to handle that kind of grief in addition to it — well, you are truly coming out the other side! You are an inspiration!

    Like

  11. this is a beautiful interpretation of wonderland. congratulationns. you inspire me so much. bravo!

    Like

  12. Good luck! It’s even more of a challenge when others know you are working for it. Very brave.

    Like

  13. YAY!!!!!!!!!!!
    THAT is an accomplishment to be proud of!
    You go, girl!

    Like

  14. Congratulations!!
    You are an inspiration, and I am so very happy for you.

    Like

  15. I’ve been there – without exercise. I went back up a bit – but with exercise. I understand your world. You can quit smoking or drinking but you can’t stop eating. Kudos to you!!!

    Like

    1. LOL Yes, Stopped drinking, drugs, smoking, and over vices but food has been the longest and most difficult addiction. There is no total abstinence from food.

      Like

  16. I have to add my congratulations as well. WAY TO GO! Also, I feel a fair amount of camaraderie with you as one of only 3 people who chose the Neverland prompt!

    Like

    1. I will always choice anything that has to do with Peter Pan, Tinker Bell, or James Barrie. LO

      Like

  17. Good for you! I know it’s not easy. I’ve lost sixty pounds twice (after pregnancies) and it was grueling. Shouldn’t have eaten all that ice cream while I was waiting for the babies. . .

    Like

  18. CONGRATS TO YOU!!! I used to be a skinny minnie in high school some 22 years ago .. since the age of 25 I have struggled with my weight, now with surgical menopause you can imagine today’s struggle! Again congrats to you it’s a great feeling keep up the good work!!!

    Like

  19. Congratulations! Grab the gusto in life and feel down to your core that you are amazing. Ellen

    Like

  20. I’m so inspired. This truly proves that in every aspect of life, the possibilities are limitless. There IS no ceiling to your potential. Beautiful moment. Congratulations.

    Like

  21. What an awesome accomplishment..all the hard work is paying off.

    Like

  22. Grief can be a long battle. I am glad you were able to recognize you deserve compassion as you work through it. And a big “yay!” Congratulations on this milestone. It’s important to honor every success.

    Like

  23. KatherinesDaughter | Reply

    I recently read “Women Food and God”. It was enlightening. It is changing the whole way I feel about food. Thanks for sharing your thoughts today! Joanne

    Like

  24. Congratulations! I found your blog while visiting Yeah Write and made sure to vote for you. This is a fantastic post, and so inspiring 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you so much. I appreciate it.

      Like

  25. Congratulations on your weight loss! It is such a struggle to lose weight, to be consistent, to do it while going through all the other punches life throws at us. Good for you!

    Like

  26. Oh, wow! Congrats! We constantly struggle around here to live a healthier life. It can be so difficult. Keep at it! Yay!

    Like

  27. So, so, so proud of you! Luvs and hugs!

    Like

  28. I am so impressed with the courage and strength you’ve taken to move toward your goals. Brava!

    Like

  29. That’s fantastic, Cathy! Reading stories like this really motivates me to continue on my own road to weight loss. 😀

    Like

    1. Congratulations to you, too. Thanks for the comments.

      Like

  30. Congratulations to you! After slowly gaining more weight than I like to even think about over the past twenty years, I’ve spent the last eighteen months trying to find a way to reach a healthy weight through sustainable changes to my life. I’m also not entirely where I want to be, but I still remember reaching onederland, and–just as you’ve done–I’ve vowed to never leave it again.

    Congrats again, and keep up the good work.

    Like

  31. Many congratulations, Cathy. I know somewhere, Jan is so proud of your strength and determination and success. I think it’s so gratifying to look back and see how far we’ve come from where we started out. Thank you for sharing the excerpt of the old post too.

    I remember learning to eat normally and healthily after being bulimic for years, thinking I would never be able to stay on track, it seemed too hard. Believing in myself was the key as it sounds like it’s been for you.
    Your story is inspiring … and I love your gold pedicure!!

    Like

  32. […] it so thought this was a good time to share what has been going on.  You can read other posts here and here and […]

    Like

What did you think?

