Movie Madness

The waitress returned to bring our check and bring more drinks.  The conversation around the table covered such things as preferences in soda, saving the world, and other random topics discussed when you have kids and adults at lunch.  The group consists of myself, my friend Jan, her two younger children and her college aged daughter (who is also my friend)  The next order of business was to decide what to do next.  It is a frequent conversation and usually goes just as this one did.

“So what do we want to do?”  This varies from time to time into where do we want to go for lunch or dinner. My friend seems to be the designed one to begin the conversation.

“I don’t care.  I am open to anything.”  I am telling the truth.  I really don’t care what we do because it always turns into an adventure.

“What do you want to do?”  The question is then tossed to the youngest adult in the group.

“I don’t know.  What do you want to do?”  The toss goes back to Jan.

We now begin to throw out ideas.

“The park?  Too hot.  The book store?  Just went there.  Downtown?  Still too hot.  How about a movie?”

We finally decided on a movie that is suitable for everyone and head to the movie theater.  We chose an animated kids movie.  Let’s just say we did it just for the kids but truth is I love those movies, too.   First stop is the nearby drug store for snacks that cost  a fraction of the movie theater price.  Goodies stuffed into purse, tickets purchased and we are on our way.

We arrived a little later than we would have liked and the theater was packed. We had to divide up a bit with three of us sitting just above the other two.  The big screen was showing the advertisements before the coming attractions as we settle into our seats.  This is was a kids movie so we anticipated some noise, but we couldn’t have imagined the scene that was to play out during the next hour and a half.

Seated in the row behind us and slightly to left was a mother with a young boy that appeared to be between three and four years old.  He was seated in a booster seat and was very animated.   He and his mother were carrying on a vivid conversation.   We looked at each with the look that said, “I do hope they will stop soon. ”

The new movie trailers began to play and again we assumed that the moment by moment replay being provided by mother and child would stop when the movie began.  You may have guessed that we were wrong in our assumptions.  As the theater darkened, the movie’s music began to play and there was indeed a moment of silence.  It was the last moment of silence we would encounter.

“Mommy, why is the bird singing?”  The first questions were answered in a quiet whisper.

“Why is the sky blue?  That is really funny.  Is he going to dance again?  Why did he do that?  Is that grass?  Where did it go?”

Each question seemed to become a bit louder as did the over animated responses from Mommy.

‘Yes, the sky is blue. Isn’t it a pretty blue?   The bird is singing a happy song.   Yes, that was so funny. LOL  (No really..she did Laugh Out Loud)    I don’t know why he did that.   Oh, yes that is really green grass.  I wonder where it went, too.”

When the young boy would take break, Mommy would start with her own annoying questions to wind him back up.  “Look, honey, the sun is really yellow.”

Several people, including us, turned to give Mommy the “look.”  Mommy must not have read the manual explaining the “look.”  A couple of people tried the ever so useless, “Shhhhh.”   Deep sighs came from the more passive aggressive.   Then came the miracle we all hoped for.

“Mommy, I have to go potty.”  YES!  That should take at least ten minutes or more.    As she took the boy by the hand and started down the steps, our entire section of the theater had to smile if not giggle. “Mommy, why aren’t they pausing the movie?”  Mommy didn’t answer but quickly lead him out of the theater as he repeated the question.  In spite of the annoying interruptions during the movie, we did all get a laugh from that.  Unfortunately, the trip was far too short and they settled back in for the end of the movie.

I am a mom, grandmother, and many of my friends have young children.  I would never go to a kid’s movie and expect everyone to be quiet.  In fact, I have never  been to a movie theater with just adults where everyone was polite and quiet.  However, for all you mommies, daddies, aunts, uncles, grandparents and other family member taking kids to the theater,  I understand that you love your children and see them as the brightest shining stars on earth.   And while their antics and adorable questions make your heart fill with joy, it doesn’t translate to the rest of us there to enjoy the entertainment on screen.   Blue Ray and DVDs at home make a far better interactive movie experience!!

read to be read at yeahwrite.me

7 responses

  1. How do kids learn to act appropriately if their adults don’t model the behavior? Well said, Cathy.

    Like

  2. My oldest daughter, who had just turned 19, and I took my youngest, who is 3 1/2, to see Brave at the end of June. It was a difficult challenge to try to keep her settled down and not disturbing other theater goers. We had to test her some time and I thought Brave my capture her interest enough. Sadly, for us, that wasn’t the case. However, I’m pretty sure we were more disturbed by her restless activity than those surrounding us, because we did our best to keep her voice quiet and soft, as well as our own responses to her.

    Like

  3. Loved this, though I was grimacing along with you. It’s amazing how many people haven’t read that manual!

    Like

  4. lol…this is exactly why I haven’t taken my 4 year old to his first movie yet. I don’t want to be the mommy who gets the “look”

    Like

  5. It was quite the adventure. I was, at different times, the giggler, the sigh-er, the shhhh-er, and the deliverer of “the look.” Cute? Yes. Annoying? Definitely. Good mommy for conversation and interaction. Bad neighbor to those who just spent a fortune on tickets.

    Like

  6. Argh. Entitlement annoys me in all its forms. Occasionally people still answer cell phones in the theater, as though they are somehow more important than everyone else in the theater. If you’re that important, watch it on Netflix. 😉

    Like

  7. I don’t understand how people can be so inconsiderate. I tried to take my 3 yo to a movie once but he was lost interest really quickly. When he started talking too much and wouldn’t sit still, I took him to the arcade. It sucked missing the rest of the movie, but it would suck worse getting “the look.”

    Like

What did you think?

