I Just Had To Laugh

 

The 15 Day Great Writers Challenge today was to “declutter”, however I am going to write about something else that was mentioned in the article today.

The challenge is to find time to do what you were made to do without forsaking what you must do.

First, I think you have to figure out what you were made to do.  I believe I was made to write.  Why?  I think about writing, read about writing, and write any time I can.  I love writing and everything to do with writing.   Finding time to write while doing the things I must do is a challenge.  I often get angry that I can’t live in Key West, have a multitude of cats, lead an exciting somewhat crazy life, and write for a living.  Yes, I want to be the female Hemingway.

I have also found a love for karate. At sixty years old, some have questioned my decision to pursue this.  I have trained for several months and last week received my purple belt.  I am taking traditional Okinawan Karate and that includes learning forms and Japanese.  It takes time and work but I have gained so much in this process. I don’t know if I was made to do this but it makes the things I must do much easier.

Friends and family are a huge part of my life that allows me to keep going with the things I must.  My children are adults and I love spending time with them.  We are fortunate to live in the same city. I have three grandchildren that provide entertainment and a reason to act like a kid.  I often blog about my friends so you can read  some of the blogs to learn more about them.

Like most people I have bills to pay, have errands that must be taken care, and work.  These are necessary things to living and necessary if I want to continue to write, take Karate, and spend time with friends and family.  My work is often stressful and there are some days I feel overwhelmed.  When that happens I often go to lunch with my friend Jan. Her daughter Anna is usually there as well, although college will start back soon so we may not see her as often.

Recently I invited myself to lunch and it turned into a comedy of errors.  Jan needed to leave before Anna, her son Gus, and I were finished so I agreed to take Anna and Gus to meet her after we ate.   I handed Anna my IPhone and told her to pick what music we would listen to on the way.  The phone was connected to the radio by auxiliary jack so we could all hear the great tunes.  Anna and I continued to talk.  A rocking country tune was playing and we had discussed running away quite a bit that day.

Anna said, “Charlotte calling.”

I wondered why she would think Charlotte (N.C.) was calling us to run away. We usually think about the beach or another exotic location.  Charlotte-not so much.

Anna again said, “Charlotte calling.”

I noticed the song on the IPhone had changed to the song by Kelly Clarkson that I use for my ring tone.  I started singing along.

I notice Anna holding my phone up in the air and saying more forcefully, “Charlotte calling.”

At that moment I notice from the corner of my eye the IPhone with called ID reading Charlotte Calling.  I realized the song had not changed but my phone was ringing.  I grabbed the phone and tried to say hello a couple of times before remembering to remove the auxiliary jack. Eventually I did  answer the call and talk to Charlotte.

Anna laughed the entire time I was on the phone.  She said I would have something to blog about today. We both continued to laugh the rest of the way to the church.  Gus seemed oblivious to anything that was going on thanks to a Lego vehicle he brought with him.

I was able to return to work and realize the most important thing in life isn’t about the job.  The job is a must in my life.  Sharing my life with friends and family is one of the things I was made to do.  I spent a lot of my life hiding and keep people at a distance.  I can tell you that my life is so much richer and more complete today because of them.

And now, I have something to blog about today.

 

4 responses

  1. Aw man! I missed out on a lot of fun – all because I HAD to go back to work!

    Like

    1. It was your day to be the grown up. 🙂

      Like

  2. Nice to meet you, Cathy! Saw your notice on SheWrites Bloggers – hope to see you around the blogosphere!

    Like

  3. Great post – it is so important to make time for the things we were made to do than what we must do. Terrific reminder.

    Like

What did you think?

