Scavenger Hunt Challenge–Something Different

I have to admit, I stole this blog idea from my friend, Jan.  One day when she is ready to share her blog with the world, I will link you to her.   🙂   The idea is to take 5 new pictures interpreting the prompts.  There are new ones each week. The rules are easy and the hunt is fun. Click over to Ramblings and Photos to find out how to join in.   Here is my attempt at this new challenge.

1. BENEATH YOUR FEET

This is the bottom of my new Sketchers sandals.   They are the “Tone Up” sandal and as it says you get a work out while you walk.  I spend a lot of time at the gym or doing other types of exercise.  I  have had some foot and knee problems, so I always look for shoes that give me some support.  I also love Sketchers.  I first discovered them when my friend Sonia was wearing them.  She got them in England when she went back to her home to visit family.   I own Sketchers sandals, tennis shoes, casual shoes and dress shoes (called Something Else by Sketchers).

2.   Capturing Movement

I have to admit this was not taken this week.  I took it a couple of weeks ago when I was at a retreat in Montreat, NC.  The water was flowing from the rock above and continued to flow along the small creek.   It was such a small stream but the sound of the flowing water was magnified by the trees and woods in this mountain area.  It reminded me that while the water was gentle and calm, it also is capable of such tremendous power once it starts to flow.  I know I am capable of that same power if I am willing to let it flow.

3. TEXTURE

This is my favorite blanket.  It isn’t really a blanket but a Snuggie (a blanket with sleeves). It is made of the softest fleece I have ever felt.  It keeps me warm and comfortable when I get cold.  I love the way it feels against my skin.  And yes, it is mine and it has my friend Sponge Bob’s picture all over it.

4. Currently

This is my desk at home.  I spend a lot of time here.  You can see my Sonic cup on left.  I get a Sonic tea (unsweet to save calories) every day.    I have been spending more and more time here since I have been doing Blogathon and writing more in general.  This is a piece of my life I love most.  The small stuffed bear is the one my friend  gave me twenty five years ago on my first anniversary of getting sober.  I keep him there to remind me that she is still here in my heart even thought she gone.  The top of the desk is covered with my variety assortment of Tinkerbell’s.  People continue to give me Tinkerbell gifts and I am afraid I will run out of room for her.

5. FACE YOUR FEARS

I wasn’t sure what I could take a picture of  for this one.  When I pulled up to my church this morning,  I knew this was the picture I would share.  I shared my church story in a blog recently.  I left the church many years ago.  I knew I wanted to go back but fear kept me away.  I was afraid that like before, I wouldn’t fit in,  I wouldn’t be accepted, I would feel unworthy, or that I would become “that person again” who hated herself because she just didn’t measure up.  This is the church where I made my comeback.  I have been taking baby steps in becoming a part of the church.  But my steps are getting bigger and stronger all the time.  The fear isn’t totally gone, but it isn’t nearly as powerful as  it was.   I have found a place where I can worship, learn, and grow.   I feel at home here and that is an amazing gift.   I also received another unexpected gift in finding an amazing new friendship with my pastor and her daughter.  The more I know them and spend time with them, the more I love them.   I believe God may have had a hand in directing me to this place.   Fear isn’t nearly as scary  as it seems when I face it.

Hope you enjoyed the Sunday Scavenger Hunt.  Thanks for coming along.

6 responses

  1. Glad I finally lured you over to the Scavenger Hunt! And even more glad that you decided to face your fear. My life is richer because you did!

    Like

  2. I enjoyed doing the Scavenger Hunt but next week looks a bit more difficult. Now I have to carry a camera around in case I find the right moment. LOL I am glad I did and mine is as well.

    Like

  3. Great captures!! I love them all, very clever!

    Like

  4. oh… welcome to SHS… you’ll have fun & won’t want to miss the action. Tell your friend Cathy you can stretch your interpretation of the words. Some people even post photos taken with their i-phone… just join us for a few weeks, you’ll see.
    fave pic = texture…

    Like

  5. I love what you said about facing your fears – I’ve been there, but getting back is so great!

    Like

    1. Glad you getting back. Thanks for commenting.

      Like

What did you think?

