If I Started Blogging Today

If I started blogging today….the first thing I would do is find out who in the heck named this thing blogging.  What is up with that? It is almost as strange as Google.  If you don’t know where they got that name, you can Google it.  I know the term blog came from combining two words, web and log….weblog…blog.  It is makes no sense to me.  I don’t write a log.  I write stories, essays, informative pieces, and more. I suppose you could refer to it as a log of my writings, but that is really stretching it.  This is just my humble opinion.  I assume you will now ask me to tell you what I would call it.   I would have to do some thinking about that but perhaps we could call it “SWOLing” (Sharing Writing On Line).

I started blogging with Blogger.  I started because my friend created a blog and then my son followed  with one.  I had just created a website and had planned to share my writing there in time.   Facebook became a part of my life at that period as well.  I still have my website but I don’t really use it the way I had intended.

Blogger was easy to learn and allowed me to post and share with a small group of select people.  I wasn’t comfortable sharing yet.  I didn’t post regularly and I didn’t have a real idea of where I wanted to go with it.

A friend used WordPress and explained that only amateurs used Blogger.  Amateur “whats” I don’t know because almost everyone I know who blogs is an amateur. Published writers may have a blog but it is usually to sell their books.    I did not want to be considered an amateur so I created a second private blog on WordPress.

In January this year, I made the switch to using my WordPress account as my main blog.  I had a much clearer idea of what I wanted to do. I made my blog public and started sharing it anywhere I could.  WordPress opened more doors for different types of readers and I have been very excited about that.

If I started blogging today, I would not have waited so long to share my blog with everyone.  Fear held me back.  I stepped out of my comfort zone and shared my writing with the world.  The world didn’t end, lightening didn’t strike my computer, people didn’t email hate mail and tell me to stop writing, nor did any of the other irrational fears come true.

Did you goggle Google yet?  Let me save you some time.   Here is what Google says about it, “The name ‘Google’ is a play on the word ‘googol,’ coined by Milton Sirotta, nephew of American mathematician Edward Kasner. A ‘googol’ refers to the number represented by a 1 followed by 100 zeros. It’s a very large number. In fact, there isn’t a googol of anything in the universe — not stars, not dust particles, not atoms. Google’s use of the term reflects our mission to organize the world’s immense (seemingly infinite) amount of information and make it universally accessible and useful.”  Weird, right?

I am thinking I might just start writing a SWOL instead of blog.  Who’s with me?

10 responses

  1. Sounds kinda like “swill”, Cathy.
    But I don’t have another idea!

    Like

    1. You will in time, I am sure!!

      Like

  2. Hi Cathy,
    I love your blog so keep writing. Earlier in the week, maybe Monday or Sunday or Saturday…who knows, you wrote a blog about leaving your abusive husband (I think). I was unable to read the complete blog that day and now I can’t find it. Do you have an archive folder? What I read was very interesting and so well written I was there with you in that tiny trailer but then I got called away and low and behold when I came back I could not find it. Help if you can, please? God bless.
    Gwyn

    Like

    1. https://cathysvoicenow.wordpress.com/2012/04/24/walking-down-another-street/ Here is the link. I need to put an archives feature on the blog. Thanks for following and reading my blog.

      Like

  3. Swolling it is! 😀

    I had heard the origin of Google’s name a while ago, but it was nice to read the reminder. They’re so innovative as a company–really inspires me.

    What are you working on now (as far as fiction goes)?

    Like

    1. Getting ready for Camp NaNo June 1. Have two stories I am debating on. One I have had an idea for quiet a while. The other is one I played with a bit but haven’t done anything. One is about two star crossed lovers. Everytime one is free the other has just married or recommitted, etc. They have an ongoing affair for many years. etc. etc The other is about a character I like but I haven’t quite figured her out yet. It is a story of someone struggling with their faith, and family, and relationships. 🙂

      Like

  4. SWOLing – has a nice ring to it!

    Like

    1. It is so much better than some of the others I thought of. 🙂

      Like

  5. […] If I Started Blogging Today (cathysvoicenow.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  6. Very nice site, thanks for share this article with us

    Like

What did you think?

