Now You’ve Done It

My sister in law posted a comment on a facebook post this morning.  My brother originally posted a question concerning some plans for summer. There were several posts and at one point, I asked if a comment was for me or my other brother.  My sister in law’s comment went something like this, “It is for T—-,B—,G—,B—,B—, (names withheld) or whoever is talking to each other.”  I decided to delete the comment because I am ultimately a caretaker and avoider of conflicts.   Afterwards I was angry with myself for doing that. So I am going to take a risk today and share what is on my heart and mind.

I still have a part of me that lives in a beautiful fantasyland where I am the fair young maiden living in an ideal world.  I have loving parents and many siblings.  I am married to my handsome prince and we do many brave and powerful things to help our kingdom.  Then the phone rings or another driver blows there horn to remind me to focus on my real life.

Most children find out they are going to be a big brother or sister when their parents sit down and share the exciting news with them.  That is not exactly how it worked for me; no, not even close.  I have seven brothers and sisters.  I am the oldest of all the children and I am an only child.  Let me confuse you a bit more.  My mother is my sister, my brother is my uncle, and my father is my brother’s brother so I think that makes him my brother.

I was the first-born child of my father and mother.  I know that seems obvious but I have to start somewhere.  My brother Mike came 18 months later.  When I was four and my brother was two my parents split.  My maternal grandmother and step grandfather adopted me.  My parental grandparents adopted my brother.  I stayed in South Carolina and Mike lived in West Va.  I soon forgot I had a brother.

At the age of six, they told me Uncle Joe was coming to visit.  I soon met Uncle Joe and his wife and two little girls.  He would visit our home and I would visit their home from time to time.  Uncle Joe was in the Navy and they soon moved away.  When I was eight, my grandmother informed me that Uncle Joe was actually my father.  She also dropped the big news that I had a brother and we were going to drive to West Va. and visit him.   That’s some pretty big news to drop on an eight year old.

When we went to visit, I informed  my brother that “Uncle Joe” wasn’t his brother (the lie he had been told) but our daddy.  I knew my biological mother because she would call and write me. I also filled him in on that part.  Need I say that all hell broke loose in the very small rural farm community in Flat Top, West Va.?

My father and his wife eventually had five children together.  I‘ve had on and off again relationships with all of them.  I keep up with two of the kids on facebook.  I haven’t talked with the youngest since he was teen.  One sister I am told, “hates my guts” and wants nothing to do with me.  I am very close to one of the brothers.  We have always seemed to have a connection.  We are very much alike and think that may be what draws us together.  As my sister-in-law indicated in her comment, you need a scorecard at times to know who is talking to each other.

When I was 25 years old, I received a call from a young woman.  She said she was an old friend of my mother’s and wondered if I knew how to contact her.  I was skeptical and didn’t give her any information.  A few minutes after the call ended, she called back.

“I lied to you a few minutes ago. I want to tell you the real reason I called.  I want to talk to Claudia (my mother) because she is my mother.”

I am not sure how long I stood there before answering her.  “I’m sorry.  Did you say Claudia was your mother?”

She went on to tell me her story.   A family in Chicago had adopted her.  Her uncle was a lawyer and handled the adoption.  He still had information about her biological mother and she used that information for her search.  Claudia had never mentioned having a baby to anyone.   Jill and I met a few months later and we still have a relationship today.

I told you about my beautiful fantasy world.  As a child, I traveled there quite often but I don’t visit as often as I used.  I have learned to accept the reality of life.  Buying birthday cards is often a sad reminded of lost relationships.  I can’t get a card specific for brothers and sisters.  Most come with sentimental statements about shared memories and experiences.  I often dream of a big family reunion, but I believe we would need Dr. Phil, Oprah, Jerry Springer, and a swat team to pull it off.

I know that two of my siblings read my blogs.  I hope they know I love them and I want to be the big sister they can lean on.  We may not share the lifetime of experiences most siblings do, but we are family.  I wish I could sit and talk with each of them, hug them, and tell them I love them.  I wish I could throw my magic pixie dust and make all the pain and hurt go away. 

 

I have struggled with this post today.  I am a writer. I want to tell my story, but I was taught to keep secrets and not to tell.  I have started writing my story so many times, but I keep stopping and throwing it away. I am afraid I will hurt someone or make him or her angry. I am afraid of what people will think.  I can’t do that anymore.  I can’t let the past win.

I am going to follow the wisdom of my favorite author, “Remember that you own what happened to you. If your childhood was less than ideal, you may have been raised thinking that if you told the truth about what really went on in your family, a long bony white finger would emerge from a cloud and point to you, while a chilling voice thundered, “We *told* you not to tell.” But, that was then. Just put down on paper everything you can remember now about your parents and siblings and relatives and neighbors, and we will deal with libel later on.”

― Anne Lamott, Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life

 

 

 

15 responses

  1. That was beautifully written. I can understand the tension one feels between wanting to share a story but hesitant because one has to deal with the fallout. I like the quote you added about owning your own story. Best of luck!

    Like

    1. Thank you for reading and for your comments. I love the quote as well.

      Like

  2. Beautiful, real and touching. Well done, Cathy.

    Like

    1. Thank you Robin. I am ready to come to NC for a retreat soon. 🙂

      Like

  3. As I read your words, I can feel your courage and pain. At some point in my life, I hope to have the courage to put my thoughts on paper. I know now why God has put you into my life!

    Like

  4. Wow, how brave of you to write that. I struggle with my own let’s say colorful childhood and I think it’s great that you’re writing about it. I’ve written some but I feel that guilt I’m sure you’re familiar with so I’ve never shared it. I especially love that quote in the end. It really spoke to me. Thank you. 🙂

    Like

    1. Vanessa It has taken a very long to get to the place where I am able to share these thing. Don’t force it, just keep writing even if you don’t share it yet. I wrote for along time without sharing. If you haven’t read Anne Lamott, I would suggest her books to you. They are filled with inspiration. 🙂

      Like

      1. I’ve been toying with one story from my childhood for a while. Been thinking about posting it as fiction but I know family will recognize it. I think I should just do it. I’m proud of what I’ve written on it so far, I should share it.

        I’ll have to pick up her books, I haven’t read them. Thanks so much for sharing Cathy. 🙂

        Like

  5. Timely post. My sister and I were raised by the same parents under the same roof. When she talks about her childhood and how wonderful it was I scratch my head in disbelief. Is she talking about the same parents I spent years in therapy talking about? It never ceases to amaze me the rose colored glasses she wears.
    Yesterday she calls me and is very upset about one of my blogs. “How could you write that about the family? What if someone sees it?”
    Being the older (caregiver) sibling, I took more than half an hour to explain to her that blogs are written from the author’s perspective. They can hover somewhere between truth and fiction. I wanted to keep the family peace and that seemed to calm her down. What I really wanted to say was, “It is my blog and I will write what I want to. Don’t read it if you don’t like it.”

    Like

    1. I know that was hard to hear from here. I am glad you are writing and sharing. It has really helped me so much and I know it helps others to share.
      Thanks for sharing that with me.

      Like

  6. SO Now YOU’VE done it!!!!!!! Sis that was me that said that not Sandy. I did it when i was on her page. Sorry i do that a lot.

    I was referencing the comment from after Betty passed away that this one was not talking to the other one and another one was no talking to another one and the sad things that happen sometimes between siblings. We have been the ones that were on the outside looking in for so long that i hated seeing them doing that themselves over stuff. It would be sad in the end when we start to move on from this life to where ever we go that being mad at someone over you got this and he got that and the other one got what ever would keep them and all of us apart.
    I was making a joke and everyone needs to smoke the peace pipe,shake hands, kiss and make up or how ever else it can be put because in the end. Well every one can finish their own sentence.

    Love ya All
    Mike

    Like

    1. Love you little brother. I knew it was a joke, but I knew it wouldn’t be taken that way, sadly enough. I couldn’t agree with you more. You and I have always been on the outside..we are a part but not a part. I cried when I wrote piece for many reasons. I hate that we missed years of being brother and sister. I hate that the family we do have is divided the way it is. I hate that Betty hated me and now I understand that Tammy does too. I hate that I wasn’t welcome to come to our Father’s funeral. I hate that our mother died and never reconciled with Jill or you. I think the feelings all the kids have towards each other run deeper than what happened after Betty died. I think that was just the final trigger. I do wish everyone would smoke the peace pipe for sure. Good reference since a large part of our heritage is Native American. 🙂 When I write it is from my own perspective and it is my truth. I will never intentionally write anything to hurt anyone. I love you. Give Sandy hugs for me.

      Like

  7. […] spark my thoughts about her more.   I shared information about all my brothers and sisters in a blog last week.   My mother, Claudia, had three children.  I was the oldest.  My younger brother, Mike, is […]

    Like

  8. […] state.  We have a sister who lives close to this town and she came to meet us.  In a blog, Now You’ve Done It I shared a bit about the strange and unique relationship between all my siblings.  It will take […]

    Like

  9. […] spark my thoughts about her more.   I shared information about all my brothers and sisters in a blog last week.   My mother, Claudia, had three children.  I was the oldest.  My younger brother, Mike, is […]

    Like

What did you think?

