Six Questions–Want To Share?

I am not quite sure if is this is a blog hop or blog meme or just a blog post with a lot of questions.

My son posted the following questions on his blog.  http://tedthethird.blogspot.com/2012/04/saturday-six-diet-time.html

I thought I would take the challenge and answer them here.  I would love to invite some of you to join me if you will.   It seemed like a great follow-up to yesterday’s post, Weight Loss Insanity.

Don’t forget to leave a link back to this blog!

1. When you were a young child, were you generally too skinny, too heavy or just right?

That is an interesting question.  My grandmother told me I was fat.  She blamed every aliment or injury on my weight. I fell from a tree branch and in landing a nail went into my foot.  Somehow being fat made that nail jump off the ground into my foot.

Of course she bought Coke and made biscuits and chocolate cakes for me.   I have always seen myself and thought of myself as fat.  A few years ago I was given some pictures from my childhood and early adult years.  I was NOT FAT.  At some points I may have been a little–mind you a little–chubby, but I was never fat in those pictures.  Scroll down to the bottom and check out my high school picture.  I am top row all the way to the left.

This carried over into my adult years.  In my mind I have always been a grotesquely large fat woman. Again I look at pictures and don’t see that person.   Maybe it was self-fulfilling prophecy that lead me to be almost 300 lbs at 5 feet tall just two years ago.

2. What’s the most weight you’ve lost during any one diet? (Or have you never had to be on one?)

I have been on a “diet” journey the past couple of years.  I have lost 76 pounds to date.  I have actually lost 100 pounds in total.  I had two injuries from extreme workouts requiring surgery on my Achilles tendon followed by knee surgery.   During both recovery periods I gained  a small amount of weight so had to re-lose that weight.  In 1983-84 I lost about 45 pounds but that is the only time I was ever successful in losing weight.  I was eating healthier and doing aerobics several times a week.

3. Of your favorite foods, which do you think is the healthiest?

Healthy food?  What is that?  Let me think.   I love seafood.   Of course I typically love it fried, but if we remove that from the equation,  I would say seafood.

4. Of your favorite foods, which do you think is the least healthiest?

90 % of all my favorite foods are probably unhealthy.    WebMD says the number one worst snack is:  Chocolate-Coated Doughnuts, Mini Doughnuts, and Snack Cakes.  Yep they are right up there on my favorites list.  I haven’t had any in a long time and I do miss them very much.  😦

5. When did you last have some of each of those two foods?

I eat some kind of fish (not fried) twice a week now.  It is one of the easy changes for me to make.     I had donuts in December.  My friend Carol came over one morning on her way to work and brought donuts.  I was sick and she wanted to make me feel better.

6. You go to a coffee shop to meet a friend for conversation. How likely are you to buy a pastry or some kind of snack to go along with that coffee?

Up until two years ago, I would have at least one pastry immediately and then after my friend left I would buy more.  There would be one or two to eat in the car and then more for home.

So how about you?  Do you struggle with healthy eating or weight loss?  I look forward to hearing some of your comments.

One response

  1. You have a handsome boy, Cathy!1. When you were a young child, were you generally too skinny, too heavy or just right?

    I was just right. When I began going through puberty, that flesh that has yet to become hips and breasts are what made my Dad consider me fat. Since I was “the pretty one” (as opposed to my sister, “the smart one”) Dad became quite the policer of food back then. In turn, I became a binge eater. Over thirty five years later, I still struggle mightily.

    2. What’s the most weight you’ve lost during any one diet? (Or have you never had to be on one?)
    2o pounds on the South Beach Diet.

    3. Of your favorite foods, which do you think is the healthiest?

    brussel sprouts

    4. Of your favorite foods, which do you think is the least healthiest?

    Double stuff Oreos would be pretty high on the list. I also tend to eat a ton of jellybeans-that’s not healthy either.

    5. When did you last have some of each of those two foods?

    Oreos, about two weeks ago (only didn’t have them recently because I thought better of replacing them) and jellybeans, last week. About 800 calories worth.

    6. You go to a coffee shop to meet a friend for conversation. How likely are you to buy a pastry or some kind of snack to go along with that coffee?

    In public I am rather likely to stick with the coffee. Then go home and make up for it!

    Like

What did you think?

