It’s the Little Things

I woke up very early this morning while it was still dark.  I wasn’t sure what time it was so I picked up my phone to check.  It was 4:30am; way too early to be up on Thanksgiving day.  I started to put the phone down when I saw a friend request.  I decided I must check it out.  There was an interesting link to a website and I didn’t want to forget about it, so I had to check it out.  That took me to another link.  You get the idea?

I decided to stop and go back to sleep when a live message appeared from my 15 year old grandson.  This the short conversation:

Today 4:34am  Aj        Haha, y r u up at stupid o’clock

4:35am Cathy Morton    just woke up and was checking the time lol

4:36am Aj       ok, :p

4:37am Cathy Morton    Of course I saw something interesting and just had to check it out. Lol

4:38am Aj      Thts how the internet works  lol

4:38am Cathy Morton     So true. Should never look at phone for time. Are you on the road yet

4:39am Aj       yup

4:40am Cathy Morton    Love you Have a good time

4:42am Aj      Thx  luv u to

♥  It doesn’t seem like much, but I am filled with gratitude for the relationship I have with him.  It’s the little things, you know.

♥  An ecard text message from a friend.  It made me smile inside and out.

♥  Breakfast with family on Thanksgiving morning.

♥  Watching my two year old grandson laugh and “draw” with crayons.

♥  The dog of the house comes running to the door and greets me.  She can’t wait for me to sit down and jump in my lap.

♥  Sitting at a friend’s house with a cat at my side and one in my lap.

♥  Getting hugs from the older women at church on Sunday mornings.

♥  A hand drawn picture from a nine-year old little girl.

♥  An early morning text message from my childhood sister/friend.

♥  Christmas songs that make me laugh or shed a tiny teardrop.

♥  A walk on the beach in winter with friends.

♥  A friend’s baby boy who was born full term and healthy.

♥  Peanut butter M&M’s and Dairy Queen ChocoCherry Blizzards.

♥  Eating Mexican with friends.

♥  My college age friend who is encouraging me to go back to college.  She believes I can do it.

♥  The women who have come into my life  to teach me more about myself and life.

♥  All of the people who take time in their day to read my words.

♥  Knowing there are people in my life that love me just as I am.

It’s not about money, cars, big houses, power, or saving the world.  It really is the little things that mean the most to me this year.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

This blog post is part of NaBloPoMo.  The theme for November’s NaBloPoMo is blogging for blogging’s sake.

What did you think?

